Week 4: RSS Feeds & Merlin

OK… I know… not fair, right? I mean, but that’s the way it is. I’ve had a Bloglines account for about 2 years… and I have lots & lots of subscriptions. In case you’re wondering, here’s the downside… you still have to go to your Reader and actually READ the stuff. Whew! The time factor is still there… but, at least, it’s less time than before AND, I know the stuff that’s there is stuff I’m really interested in. Don’t be afraid to “weed” your reader after the first few weeks. If you didn’t read those posts in the first weeks, you probably never will. Take my word for it. 🙂

Some of my favorite librarian blogs are The Shifted Librarian, Stephen’s Lighthouse, blyberg.net, and Tame the Web. But I also have Boing, Boing and other fun stuff.

For those of you interested in what I subscribe to… here’s my blogroll at bloglines:http://www.bloglines.com/blog/irmbrown.

TIP: Remember, the directions to getting your bloglines blog public is easier now… just go into your account and click on the ‘public’ check box.

Merlin was one of the first places I saw an avatar talking… I still hope to get our avatar out there… just time and code … that’s what it’s all about. A number of the techs here in CSC were using Merlin for tech training and the 23 Things MD liaisons have a group there as well to keep up with issues… of which there have been very few.

Irm's Meez Girl

Thought I’d have some fun with Meez… what do you think?

There’s so much more I’d like to do … I did think it was cool that I did a search in Technorati on Library 2.0 23 Things and the first blog post that came up was this one. Is that odd or what?

2 Comments »

  1. Char Said:

    Pretty interesting “stuff”. I am learning to manage the information overload and must say that I am really enjoying the process.

  2. irmbrown Said:

    That’s great. Glad you are hanging in there. ib


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

