Week 1: Lifelong Learning

Tips:

  • Watch the way you click on this tutorial…it’s a little muddy… just hang in there and persist.
  • Here’s a link to the “contract” mentioned in the Lifelong Learning Powerpoint. (It’s a Word doc.) I understand that Firefox users are not having any problems.
  • See below for quick list to the 7 1/2 habits.
  • 7 ½ Habits of Highly Successful Lifelong Learners
    Habit 1: Begin with the end in mind
    Habit 2: Accept responsibility for your own learning
    Habit 3: View problems as challenges
    Habit 4: Have confidence in yourself as a competent, effective learner
    Habit 5: Create your own learning toolbox
    Habit 6: Use technology to your advantage
    Habit 7: Teach/mentor others
    Habit 7 ½: Play

    Here’s my personal take on these:
    The 7 1/2 habits and what I think about them…
    I am so ready to “break out the box” for learning… I think I have done it the “old way” too long. I’m such a “good student.” yuck! But I do love NEW things!
    Begin with the End in the Mind – so Covey.
    Accept Responsibility for your own learning… I’m for that. I’m sure I drive Terri crazy because I love to sign up for classes…
    View Problems as Challenges… hmmm, I do get sucked into the “problem” too much.
    Have Confidence in yourself as a learner…
    Create your own learning toolbox … I like this the best… sounds intriguing… got to figure this out for me.
    Use technology to your advantage… ok, I got this one down…. more or less.
    Teach and mentor others… this is one of they keys to my personal mission statement.
    Play! … I’m really going to work on this part.

    My goal: Complete a set of podcasts and upload a YouTube video.
    Obstacles: Not setting aside the time.
    Toolbox: I’m all set with the hardware I need.
    Resources: Gia, Nini, Maurice, Annette, Jamie, Angelique, Keith, Tom
    Time Table: by the end of Learning 2.0 – Staff Day
    Check-in: with each posting
    Signature… ib

    Leave a Reply

